xc Lucas Oil Late Models and MLRA to co-sanction Silver Dollar Nationals


The Super Late Model portion of the Second Annual Silver Dollar Nationals will be co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and the Midwest Late Model Racing Association (MLRA). That means some of the best Dirt Late Model drivers in the country will be descending on I-80 Speedway on July 19, 20 & 21.

Dennis Erb, Jr. of Carpentersville, Illinois is the current Lucas Oil point leader following the series week long run at East Bay Speedway in Florida. Defending Lucas Oil Series Champion Jimmy Owens sets second with Steve Francis third, Randy Korte fourth and Jonathan Davenport fifth. Defending Silver Dollar National Champion Don O’Neal is tenth. Missing from the top ten after East Bay is former series champion Scott Bloomquist. You can expect to see both O’Neal and Bloomquist move up quickly in the standings. The next Lucas Oil race is March 24 at the Brownstown Speedway in Indiana for the annual “Indiana IceBreaker.”

The MLRA will kick off their season on March 24 at the Springfield Raceway in Springfield, Missouri. John Anderson of Omaha is the defending MLRA Champion.

The popular Double Qualifying Heat Format has been retained for this year’s race meaning there will once again be no time trials. The 80 lap feature will pay $25,000 to win and $1,000 to start. Once again 33 or 34 cars will start the 80 lap feature event.

The United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) will once again be back as the companion class for the Silver Dollar Nationals. The USMTS will be running a National Event on Friday, July 20 paying $4,000 to win and $400 to start. The Saturday night USMTS program will be a Casey’s Cup Qualifier paying $2,000 to win and $400 to start.

The USMTS kicked off their 2012 season in late February at the Royal Purple Raceway in Texas with a three day event that saw Johnny Scott of Las Cruces, New Mexico win the 50 lap finale. Defending series champion Ryan Gustin leads the USMTS National point chase followed closely by former champion Jason Hughes and Scott.

The Thursday night portion of the program has been changed. In addition to open practice for the Super Late Models and USMTS Modifieds there will be a complete show for the SLMR Touring Series and non-sanctioned B Mods and Hornets. The popular SLMR touring Super Late Model Series is in its fifth year with a different champion in each year. Travis Dickes of Madison, Nebraska is the defending SLMR Champion. Adult ticket prices for Thursday will be $15 for Adults, Ages (6-12) $5 and Ages 5 and under free.

The Raised Grandstand (with individual backed seats) will be Reserved and go on sale today. All seats in the Raised Grandstand will be $28 ($25.93 + $2.07 sales & seat tax) on Friday, July 20 and $32 ($29.63 + $2.37 sales & seat tax) on Saturday, July 21. The Bleacher Seats on both sides of the Raised Grandstand will be General Admission. On Friday night the Bleacher Seats will be $28 ($25.93 + $2.07 sales & seat tax) for Adults, $10 for Juniors (6-12) with 5 and Under free. On Saturday night Bleacher Seats will be $32 ($29.63 + $2.37 sales & seat tax) for Adults, $10 for Juniors (6-12) with 5 and Under free.

17 backstretch RV parking spots at $300 each are also available overlooking turn two and the backstretch. In addition to a premier 3 day parking stall each purchaser receives two pit passes to all three nights of action. Reserved Camping spots are also available. If you pre-purchase a three day grandstand ticket you can also reserve a camping spot free. If you do not pre-purchase your tickets, camping spots will be $25 for the three days.

Companies and large groups should call us about package prices and parties. For more information or to purchase your tickets call the I-80 Speedway Office at (402)-342-3453 or send you order to: I-80 Speedway, 5040 I Street, Omaha, NE 68117.